Revisionist me

“Don’t wanna learn from nobody what I gotta unlearn”

Bob Dylan’s line from the album “Slow Train Coming” resonated with the young me. It challenged me think critically before taking on ideas and practices and to show some care as to what I exposed myself to.

Now, in my middle years, I am actually enjoying the process of unlearning. There is some pleasure in going back to the basics and to ask myself what I actually know, think and feel. De-cluttering is a good thing for my temperament.

Four things have so far emerged.

First, I am surprised by how many people are privately doing their own version of revisionism but are anxious to not have it known. Membership in a tribe often calls for some ‘group think’ – but more on that in another post.

Second, I feel less compelled to have all the answers. (Oh, perhaps ‘responses’ is a better word than ‘answers’?).

Third, my thinking is now far less clinical and more infused with the beautiful notions of grace, mercy and peace.

Finally, in contrast to what I feared, the stripping away has left more connected with my faith and values.

 

 

This entry was posted in Journey, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Revisionist me

  1. You are not alone, my friend. I liken this to a building: as we pull away the scaffolding, the realisation after so many years that what has been built is not what the blueprint called for. Ah well….start again…

Leave a comment