Affirmation

As my football team was being slowly and convincingly crushed by the opposition my attention turned to the crowd of despondent supporters. Two things struck me.
At the very time the team really needed their supporters’ backing and encouragement there was silence. And where there was voice it was in criticism of the umpire or faint exasperation of their team.

I know what it is like to fall behind, to not be my best – to face defeat. And what I need is people who believe in me voicing their hope and affirming their love for me.

When I’m winning I don’t really need the affirmation – as nice as it is. The time I need the cheering crowd is when I miss the goal, or drop the ball or outright fail.

This entry was posted in Journey, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

