Challenging false notions of self.

There are all these ideas and attitudes I have not properly challenged yet sit inside me, powerfully informing my life choices. Fears, anxieties, false views of myself, ideas about what is important.

I need to catalog these, put them to the test of reason, show someone else the list and find a place that is true.

I have known for a few weeks that I need to do this, and haven’t yet even started. Really important stuff. Must not  delay.Image

This entry was posted in Journey and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Challenging false notions of self.

  1. SM says:

    I can imagine that your reading list for this time you have put aside is enormous, but I am reading some amazingly powerful and transformative words right now by T. Brach. She speaks about a “Trance of Unworthiness” that many of us find ourselves in. Until one escapes that trance through acceptance PLUS mindfulness, transformation is very difficult. Let me know if you want more.

    A quote that I find really simple and profound, this one from Carl Rogers:

    “The curious paradox is that when I accept myself just as I am, then I can change.”

    Love you man.

    SM

    • Hey thanks for your insights, S. The challenging period I have faced has brought some very good things but also its share of stings – events and words that my darker side can easily use against me. Who would have thought at my ripe old age I would be still struggling with obtaining and retaining a positive self awareness/knowledge? That said, a new resilience has been rising up in me and this in part is reflected in my willingness to face some fears I have until now been reluctant to acknowledge and thus deal with. Trance of unworthiness. Compelling phrase…

  2. Hey S, this applicable John Lennon comment made me chuckle. “Part of me suspects that I’m a loser and the other part of me thinks I’m God Almighty”.
    Playboy January 1981 interview? (In 1981 I would have wished for a copy of that magazine above almost all else, but back then my keen eye for certain detail did not apply itself to spotting such exemplary quotes).

    • SM says:

      Classic. He had some of the best quotes, didn’t he?
      I’m sure one can now buy every PB ever in digital form, for the iPad 😉
      The truth is right in the middle. I think it’s because we are so focused on being different, better, superior to others that it’s so easy to end up feeling inferior when there is not enough evidence to support the former! (which is always the case…)

Leave a Reply

